Bias

Ahh bias… that fun little monkey that we carry around with us everywhere. Cutting to the quick, making decisions without all of the information in. Oh yes, we do this. A lot. I think that when I am at my most mentally agile is when I stay away from bias as much as possible. Why do kids learn so much faster, no previous crap to get in the way.

I think calmness and being free of bias are interrelated. Bias is an outreach of impatience maybe. Social psychologists talk about Fluid vs. Crystal Intelligence. Fluid means that ideas are changing, crystallized is that all your decisions basically follow a pre-determined path.

Let things follow through you and around you. Try not to push at things around you.

Tags: , , , ,

About jasonheires

I am a musician and writer. Currently, working in IT. Tennis player. Guitar Player. I dabble in art. Sci-Fi and comic book fan.

Leave a comment