Theory vs. Practice

Lately I have been talking a lot about theory.  Theory is definitely important. Thinking about how things work is important. It is necessary to think about things and to think about how they work. Honestly, you need to do it from time to time in order to tweak your process and make it better.

However, practice is definitely MORE important than theory. Truth is you can get bogged down in theory. The real questions should always be: Does what I am doing work?  Can I do this better? How do I do it better? Is there anything that I need to learn to do it better?

Practice drills in the ideas of the theory. Practice makes the theory tangible/workable tools that are now in your arsenal. Ex. I can find out how write a piece of programming on the internet. But, until I have actually used and understood exactly what that piece of code was I couldn’t really use it again.  Once I understand the piece of code I could repurpose it and use it over and over again.

I believe in the magic of creation. I believe that first and foremost you should always trust your instincts when it comes to doing anything. However, it is good to know that somehow/somewhere there is a series of ideas that backs up what you are doing.

The other thing is theory is NOT set in stone. Ideas change. Practice is where the tweaking of the theory takes place anyway.

Tags: ,

About jasonheires

I am a musician and writer. Currently, working in IT. Tennis player. Guitar Player. I dabble in art. Sci-Fi and comic book fan.

Leave a comment